Being a Tanzanian citizen, travel can be a little tricky. I don’t have what they call a bon passeport; the kind of passport that pretty much lets you travel on a whim to most corners of the planet.

In fact there are very few passports that will allow you to show up to any country unannounced.  This isn’t to speak anything negative about my citizenship. I am a proud Tanzanian, however the prospect of travel can be a little daunting when you think of the hoops you have to jump through before (maybe) being granted a visa.

Think having to provide bank statements, fingerprints, a letter confirming your employment, your full travel itinerary, and a hefty fee that doesn’t even guarantee you a visa. Oyy!

Out of curiosity, I looked up how easy it would be for me to travel if, say, I were a Canadian citizen and this is what Wikipedia says:

Visa requirements for Canadian Citizens

For Tanzanian citizens, this is what Wikipedia threw back at me:

1000 Shades of Grey

 

My little research opened me up to a completely different world of gems that I had never even considered visiting.  Wallis & Futuna anyone?

We get so caught up in trying to check off specific countries off our bucket lists that we forget there is just so much beauty can be found right in our backyards.

I’ll be discovering my own backyard (Tanzania) in the summertime.

Stay tuned!

Tanzania

 

Diasporique